A Random Blog Update About Not Much

I felt it was time for an update.  How am I, you ask?  Busy.  Very busy.  So busy that it has had me freaking and panicking and not being able to do anything because there is so much.  I admit, I was kind of in a funk, a spiritual funk, more specifically, before Fall Getaway (which was last weekend).  I had a bad attitude about it all around.  But you can’t ignore God or push him aside at a God-centered conference.  I learned a lot, but God really picked me up and put me back where I was supposed to be.  He affirmed my career choice, which I was very grateful for, and I realized that even if I have a ton to do, if I don’t consciously MAKE time for him, my day won’t go well and I’ll find myself in another funk.

 

So, I’ve been trying to take charge (with God’s help, of course) of my ever-busy schedule. I surrendered my schedule to God, because I was just making a mess of myself.  As many of you know, I LOGGED OFF Facebook for an unknown amount of time.  And the other morning, instead of going on Facebook before class like I always do, I PRACTICED for my lesson that was that day and I finished up some homework.  I’m re-disciplining myself to not be on the computer so much in a procrastinating-type-fashion.  Facebook will come back when I finish figuring that out.

 

I’m really excited for a number of reasons.  Here comes a list:

1) Tomorrow (Saturday), I get to sleep in.  And that hasn’t happened for a little too long.  (Yeah, I have a ton of homework, too, but I have nothing else to do all day!  Woo-hoo!)

B) Next week is homecoming week at Augie!  Don’t ask me who the football team is playing because I don’t care enough to find out, typically, but Viking Varieties is featuring the Percussion Ensemble as an awesome act, and I’m supper excited that we’re participating this year!  Fyi…if you’re here, or within a six-hour radius, you should consider coming. Performances for the public are Thursday at 7pm, Friday at 9:15pm (student night at 11pm), Saturday at 7 & 9:15 pm, and Sunday at 2pm.

Choo-Choo Train) The Augie Orchestra (of which I am timpanist for this year) is performing with Kansas on Friday night at the Paviliion at 7pm!  It’ll be pretty awesome, but I’m sorry that there are basically no tickets left.  The Orchestra is also performing on Sunday at the homecoming service at the Elmen (NOT the Kansas music…sorry).

Net) I can actually PLAY the cornet and the horn!  My prof noticed improvement from my cornet playing test to my horn playing test.  Trombones next week…(!?)

Funf) God is just so awesome.  I’ve been seeking him a lot this week, and I haven’t fallen into freak-out or panick-mode all week!  Well, not for long periods of time, anyway.  I rate this past week as status = awesome.  I’ve been SEEING him work and it is just SO COOL to witness it!

 

I hope you all are doing well!  Sorry for nothing really interesting.  I just wanted to write and this is what popped into my head.  More later.  Something different.  I know not many people read my blog, but I’m grateful for those of you who do!  (Even if it’s just sympathy or an “I’m bored” read through…).  I love you all!

 

Ever smiling, Anna =)^2

Leave a comment