T-Swift’s “Love Story”

Yes, I’m a T-Swift fan, and I’m not sorry about it. Ever since she became that new country singer, I was a fan. Still am. I love that she writes her own music and that she’s so personable and nice and everything. Anyway, that’s beside the point. I love this song.
Listen to it!  And watch the video while you’re at it.  🙂

Here are 8 reasons why:

  1. I love story songs. Possibly because I’ve always liked hearing and telling stories.
  2. She uses classic literature (Romeo & Juliet, The Scarlet Letter, and Pride & Prejudice) as her story.
  3. Some of these classic pieces end in tragedy, but she blends them together to make it a happy ending.
  4. I love the story of P&P. Don’t get me wrong. The book starts out a little too slow for my taste, but have you SEEN the Lizzy Bennet Diaries on YouTube? Fantastic remake. Okay, I love classic literature retold in a modern setting (I kind of write that way, too). The song skips all the stuff where Lizzie won’t talk to Darcy because she feels judged by him, it just gets to the good part where they both love each other.  I love how much Darcy loves Lizzie.  Anybody with me on that?
  5. I like R&J, too, just not the tragedy part. She took the part where they weren’t supposed to be together and used it, just not all the families killing each other and stuff. Awesome.  Romeo and Juliet had an amazing love, too.  The romantic in me is sighing softly.
  6. I was also that weird kid in high school who enjoyed reading TSL and analyzing it. T-Swift only took a reference from this book, the part where Hester Prynne, who wears the scarlet letter, is alienated from society. Well, T-Swift kind of just uses the reference to underline the fact her dad didn’t want her seeing Romeo; she was like a scarlet letter to Romeo.  (But the rest of the lyrics and where they are from just indicate their love for each other was like in the aforementioned stories.)
  7. I know she took all the happy parts out of these stories. Frankly, when I’m writing shortstories or even the novel that I’m working on, I use the Bible as a basis of my stories, and pull stories from there. But I never pull stories that don’t end so well. For example, in my stories, people don’t die, they just get knocked out (kind of like Batman doesn’t kill).
  8. And, finally, why I love this song: Taylor Swift is an awesome artist in general. I loved her when she was in the country scene, and I just followed her to her pop music. Okay, so I wasn’t a fan of all her heartbreak songs (because they were all so similar), but I loved her happy little love songs. (“Our Song” is another great one of hers, by the way.)

I like story songs because I like stories. What kind of songs do you like the best?

Anna E. Meyer

Leave a Reply

