It’s a Love Story: Part VI (Wedding Week and WEDDING)

The Monday of wedding week, I had one more trip to Sioux Falls to make. I needed to make sure everything of mine was out of my apartment. I needed to pick up the silk flowers that had been made there. I needed to pick up my brace, which should be working! So my mom and I went to Sioux Falls and took care of business. I had been doing physical therapy the month of June, as well, so that finished up.

Fast forward to Wednesday: Dr. Wile E. Coyote and Beth came. Dr. Coyote with the minimal of things he needed for two-ish weeks.

This pic was taken Thursday before the wedding, but Mom and Dad wanted Dr. Wile E. in it, because by the time the pics would be done, he would be part of the family!
This pic was taken Thursday before the wedding, but Mom and Dad wanted Dr. Wile E. in it, because by the time the pics would be done, he would be part of the family!

Thursday: Laura threw me an awesome bachelorette party, with lunch at my favorite place in Marshall, a scavenger hunt, ice cream, and mani/pedis. I give her the award for best MOH. My roommates threw me a bachelorette a few weeks earlier. That included tie-die, alcohol, and “the friends game.” That was fun, as well, just me and them! I have been missing out on so much of this story. I digress.  That night, we took a family photo for the church directory.  We were like, “Wedding this weekend– we just need one picture for the directory, because we won’t be buying any.” 

Friday: We finished packing up a U-Haul of all my stuff before Jim and Karen (parental in-laws) came! I also finished packing about that time, and for the first time, was starting to get stressed. About moving. I wasn’t really stressed about the wedding or anything. I also met the three groomsmen for the first time! I had talked with them all on Facebook, but I met them in person! I met Matt first, and then I met Kyle and new wife Maddy, as well as Billy, right before the rehearsal began. Fun stuff. The rehearsal dinner was awesome! I think everyone just had a grand ole time. Jim’s speech was great (though really, I don’t remember it all anymore), dinner was awesome, and Karen did a marvelous job getting everything together! The guys had the bachelor party that night, because it was the first time they’d all been together in a long while. I think they went bowling, and invited some other males that were already in hotels and such. Sounds like they had fun, anyway!

Saturday: Princess Day. 8am, hair done. Emily and Megan brought coffee and bagels. Then us girls headed to the church, Laura and I stopping by home on the way. The day really wasn’t rushed or anything! My make-up was done by my sisters, mom pressed our dresses, and Karen had ordered a party sub for the wedding party so that we could eat. I loved seeing people there in between pictures and going downstairs before the service. Let me tell you about the music at my wedding, because it could not be typical. I am Anna—the music-obsessed percussionist who had just graduated college and had friends and family who are very musical that I took advantage of!

Dr. John Pennington playing vibes, and his wife playing violin.
Dr. John Pennington playing vibes, and his wife playing violin.
Gwen Arneson playing organ!
Gwen Arneson playing organ!
Luke Hanson singing, Berit Henrickson playing flute, and Alex Curry recording the ceremony from the balcony
Luke Hanson singing, Berit Henrickson playing flute, and Alex Curry recording the ceremony from the balcony

Prelude: Piano music, hymns, mostly, by my former piano teacher (who also played the organ throughout the service)

Processional for Wedding Party: Dr. John Pennington on the vibes, and his wife Mary, played “Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring.”

Bridal Processional: Organ, “Ode to Joy”

As soon as I got up there, the congregation sand “Joyful, Joyful We Adore Thee.”

Between readings, my “foreign-exchange-sister” from Germany sang “Love Never Fails” by Brandon Heath. She actually couldn’t be there, so it was a recording, but she and a friend did it in Germany and then sent us the mp3.

After the readings and before the message, the congregation sang “Love Divine” because the words fit with the readings.

While we were braiding the cord of three strands (instead of a unity candle), Viktoria (the foreign-exchange-sister who isn’t actually my sister but might as well be) sang “God Gave Me You.”

“The Lord’s Prayer”, with the organ, a flute (played by one of my good friends from college), and the baritone voice of my cousin, Luke.

Recessional: Organ, “The Halleluiah Chorus.”

As we were walking out of the church, Luke (who has the great voice), was playing the theme from “The 1812 Overature” on his cello, which I didn’t know he was going to do! He and Dr. Wile E. Coyote planned that all by themselves.

And can I continue talking about surprises of the day? I had a banner made that said “Doug and Anna, June 28, 2014” that hung just outside the church that Dr. Coyote didn’t know about. A LIMO took us from the church. We stopped at these apartments to see some older folk from my congregation who I like visiting with before we got to the reception! That was Dr. Coyote and my dad, I think.

My father, giving his speech.
My father, giving his speech.
Kyle Kaster, best man and all around good guy giving his speech.
Kyle Kaster, best man and all around good guy giving his speech.
Laura Olson, my lovely MOH, giving her speech.
Laura Olson, my lovely MOH, giving her speech.

As we came in to the reception, the 1812 Overature played. (My request.) My pastor-uncle Brian said a little something and then prayed before the meal.

Toward the end of the meal, my dad got up and gave a speech. Goodness, he even choked up a bit, which made it better. “When I first met Doug,” my dad said, “I was not afraid that he might be the one to marry my daughter.” My dad also said in his speech that he’d been praying for Dr. Wile E. Coyote since way before he knew that Dr. Coyote would marry me. I didn’t cry, but I know a few others who might have.

Kyle, the best man, he talked about Dr. Coyote, much from the summer where they lived in apartments next to each other in his speech. He remembered Dr. Wile E. was filling out med school applications and studying for the MCAT. Kyle wants to be a Christian doctor, as well, and it was something he and Dr. Coyote bonded over. Kyle gave examples of things Dr. Coyote did in college that he looked up to. It was sweet.

Laura’s speech was spectacular. Am I bias in saying that, because she is my sister? Maybe. Anyway, she started out with “Well, I did prepare a little something,” right before she totally unrolled a big thing of paper (see picture…it’s too hard to describe. She called me her Barbie doll, her sidekick, and her hero. She gave the secret recipe to why I’m so happy all the time (3 part secret: I love myself, everyone else, and God!). Her speech was great, and I so loved it. And her. I love her like crazy.

Laura on the left, and Christina on the right.  My two lovely sisters!
Laura on the left, and Christina on the right. My two lovely sisters!

Let me take this time to give a shout out to my other spectacular sister who didn’t have to write a speech or do much more than show up and look fabulous. It was really hard deciding which would be my maid of honor, but I knew I wanted a sister of mine to do the honors. My sisters tell everybody they’re twins, and everyone believes them.

Our non-alcoholic wedding reception had people dancing and having a ton of fun until the DJ stopped the music. There were a core group of people who hadn’t really stopped dancing (and if they did briefly, they went right back at it). It was a testimony to the people that were working at the reception hall, because it just shows you can have non-alcoholic fun! I love all my family and friends that were rippin’ it up on the dance floor all night!

I wanted to be everywhere at once during the reception. I wanted to dance, I wanted to visit. I wanted to give hugs and pose in pictures, and sometimes, I just needed to sit. There was a relative of mine (like, dad’s cousin’s granddaughter) that was following me around a lot of the night because she was captivated by the bride. I was that pretty bride I’d always looked up to! I remember going to my mom’s cousin Gail’s wedding when I was little, just being amazed that the bride—the main character of the day, knew who I was! Anyway, a few people asked Kezia if she wanted to dance, but she just wanted to watch. She looks exactly like her mother did and I couldn’t get over her cuteness-factor. (Way to go, all you Amdahls, on beautiful children!) As usual, I pushed myself, and was way tired by the end of the night.

I’m not going to bore you all with details of what happened after the reception. Did you really think I would put that here? You’re getting details, but not those details.  I shall continue my narrative in part VII, which will be up Monday!

Anna

Leave a Reply

